Newark College of Engineering

NCE'S Salute to Engineering Excellence

The First-Ever NCE Salute to Engineering Excellence
an Outstanding Success
We Thank Our Sponsors, Donors and Participants!

On behalf of the Newark College of Engineering, and the students who will benefit from your support, we thank everyone whose generous participation helped to make the first-ever NCE Salute to Engineering Excellence such a success.

As has been our tradition at this annual event, we celebrated and recognized outstanding members of the NCE Family. This year's Gala Reception format was well received since it gave all of our 300 participants-student alumni, faculty, staff and corporate friends-an opportunity to meet and network.

The proceeds of the event benefit the NCE Scholarship Endowment, which is the focal point of College's fundraising efforts.  We are proud to announce that we raised $100.000 in sponsorships and donations from the 2007 Salute.  We acknowledge all of our sponsors, but would like to extend a heartfelt thank you to R.S. Knapp/Napco.  In addition to supporting through a gold ad in the Salute Journal, the company put us "over the top" of the $100K mark with a spontaneous gift that evening.  We also acknowledge Dockbuilders Local Union 1456
whose Student Exhibit sponsorship came in after our signs and journal were put to bed.

I invite you to re-live a most memorable evening by viewing photos from the evening.

John R. Schuring
Interim Dean

Keynote Speaker -Frank Lombardi
Chief Engineer, The Port Authority of NY and NJ

                                                                                         Salute Photos


Hatch Mott MacDonald

J. Fletcher Creamer & Son

New Jersey Laborers Union

Paulus, Sokolowshi & Sartor

Neglia Engineering Associates

E E Cruz & Company, Inc.

Public Service Electric & Gas

Skanska USA

Construction Industry Advancement Program of NJ

Railroad Construction

French & Parrello

Raia Properties

Janet and John Schuring

The Port Authority of NY & NJ

D'Annunzio & Sons, Inc


Outstanding NCE Alumna Award
Virginia C. Sulzberger '62 BSEE '66 MSEE
North American Electric Reliability Council (Retired)

NCE Industry Partner Award
Hatch Mott MacDonald

NCE Engineering Impact Award
J. Fletcher Creamer, Jr.
Chief Executive Officer
J. Fletcher Creamer & Son, Inc.

2007 NCE Excellence in Teaching
Herli Surjanhata, Mechanical Engineering

2007 NCE Excellence in Advising
Reginald P.T. Tomkins, Otto H. York Department of Chemical Engineering

2007 NCE Outstanding Staff
Roberta K. Hartlaub, Civil and Environmental Engineering

BME Outstanding Departmental Senior Award
Hamid Bagce, Paterson, NJ

ChE Outstanding Departmental Senior Award
David Nare   Newark, NJ

CE Outstanding Departmental Senior Award
Britain Materek   Parsippany, NJ

EE Outstanding Departmental Senior Award
Jared Kruzek   Pequannock, NJ

ET Outstanding Departmental Senior Award
Maureen Sturgeon,  Franklin Park, NJ

IE Outstanding Departmental Senior Award
Ashley Chou   Wayne, NJ

ME Outstanding Departmental Senior Award
NCE Overall Outstanding Departmental Senior Award

Matthew P. Schaefer   Randolph, NJ

Madame Mau Outstanding Female Engineering Student Endowment Award
Valerie Rafalko (ECE)   Fords, NJ

Outstanding Graduate Student Award
Georgia Chouzouri   Livingston, NJ

Saul K. Fenster Excellence in Innovation Award:
Seismic Design Team:
Anthony Massari
Britain Materek
Diana Rodriguez
Indira Hernandez
Shefali Patel
Steve Flormann

NCE Outstanding Club Award
American Society of Civil Engineers

NCE's Annual Salute to Engineering Excellence supports the NCE Board of Visitors Scholarship Endowment. The endowment provides financial support to students studying  engineering at NJIT.



NCE Outstanding Alumni Award Recipients

2006    Charles Forman '72
2006    Stephen Shaw '82
2005    Anthony B. D'Onofrio '76, '81
2005    Dr. Michael J. Pappas '59, '64
2005    Brig. Gen. Ellen M. Pawlikowski '78
2005    Hon. Paul A. Sarlo, PE '92,'95
2003    Victor J. Ferlise '67
2002    Paul W. Klein '64, '68
2002    Joseph F. Picciano '71, '76
2001    James J. Lindefelser '64
2001    John Ruggirello '72
2000    Lawrence Raia '65
2000    Ying Wu '88
1999    Henry Mauermeyer '72, '74
1999   John Gregorits '51, '62

NCE Distinguished Alumni Service Award Recipients

2004    Joseph J. Manfredi '74
2004    Erhan Atay '80, '82
2003    Kevin G. Carswell '79
2003    William Paulus, Jr. '63
2002    Peter Cistaro '68
2002    Elizabeth Garcia '73
2001    Daniel D. Kelly '66
2000    Bernard Coopersmith '44



Jane McClellan
Director of Development, Newark College of Engineering


NJIT Alumnus and Former Board of Overseers Chair to Receive...

NJIT Makes Highlander History with a Top-Ten Finish in the...

Reflections from the Class of 2015

EXXON Hires Three NJIT Seniors: Great Jobs with Great Pay